Running for Dear Life

My committment to myself for 2013-2014. I am committed to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon in February 2014. I have always dreamed of sporting events at Disney World. Even though I haven’t been an athlete in a very long time, I grew up playing softball. My first lifelong goal was accomplished when I participated in the Disney Softball Tournament at Wide World of Sports in 2006. I did this with LMM and this was the trip where we were reunited in person and it strengthened our bond to what it is now.

disney-princess-half-logo

LMM and I are going to run as a team in 2014, and I am starting my Couch to 5k program now! I am SO pumped about it. I was at Disney this past weekend when my mom was in town, and we happened to get there the day of the marathon and I couldn’t help but admire all of the gorgeous medals, and gorgeous women of all shapes, ages, and sizes who had run.

I have recently learned that I need to also lose 30 pounds to qualify for the surgery. I have to prove a 10% weight loss to them over a time span of one year. I am going to do it in the next few months. Watch me go.

What is YOUR committment to yourself for this year? Please share!

8 thoughts on “Running for Dear Life

  1. I think I’ve heard of this run before, but I’ve been looking for an excuse to get my family to Disney for a long time so maybe this is it. 🙂 I used to run before I injured my foot last summer. I can’t wait to get back to it once I’m cleared for jogging again post-op.

    • Registration is opening soon for the Princess Half Marathon! Would love to see you there! Any excuse for Disney is a great one, but this race I have been told is truly amazing!

  2. Yay! Take the C25K thing slow. I definitely recommend doing the first week a couple of times before moving on. Maybe I’ll do that run next year, too. I didn’t even know about it. Good luck!

  3. I am SO happy to be a part of another amazing leg of your life’s journey! I couldn’t imagine doing something like this with anyone else! I am more than proud of you and to be your friend! YOU inspire ME and I love you!

Leave a Reply

