By-Passing the Time

Wow, it has been a while.

I have been a busy bee. We had family in town over two different weekends, and then LMM and her hubby came for Easter. In between, I have been working on re-painting our spare bathroom into a Disney Princess theme for Lucky Charm, and turning our guest room into a playroom for her. I have also done a few fun things like spray paint our bathroom faucet, and doorknob in the spare bath.

Last Thursday I went to my first weight loss seminar that was required by the surgeon’s office before you could make a consultation appointment. During this seminar, I learned that the Plication surgery I was hoping to have is actually not FDA approved and he doesn’t perform them. I also learned the Roux En Y Gastric Bypass is probably going to be what he recommends for me. This scares the pants off of me! I always said it was the one surgery I would never consider because it’s so invasive. After hearing him speak, I realize that it may be what is best. He explained that gastric has the most impact on hormonal changes, vs. the sleeve gastrectomy and the lapband (he only recommends for very few people since the complications are highest with this). Since many (most) of my health issues stem from hormonal imbalance, it seems like the logical choice.

Since that meeting, I have made an appointment for my consultation with him next Thursday (the 11th). I have been going over the nitty gritty details for insurance approval to be sure that they have all of the information they are requesting. My insurance requires that I lose 10% of my body weight before surgery. This is going to be the toughest of the requirements for me. I have lost 10, but have stalled. I haven’t been eating the best either, so that is changing.

I also have to have 6 months of dr. supervised weight loss visits, which I have completed 3 months of. It also requires a co-morbidity factor (I have plenty of those), and a BMI of over 40. I think mine is 46.

So hopefully, I will be looking towards a surgery date in June or July for sure.

I  am hopeful that the time will go by quickly between now and surgery and I can really focus on getting as much weight off as I can now. The more I can lose before surgery, the better for me during/after surgery.

So here are some of the changes I am currently making to my diet.

1. I signed up to have a box of local organic fruits and veggies delivered to the house bi-weekly to encourage us to try new fruits and veggies, and have them readily accessible (plus they’re amazingly delicious!).

2. LMM helped me plan lots of low-carb friendly meals. Here are a few on the menu: Thai peanut chicken lettuce wraps, Turkey Kielbasa, Pasta Salad (using Dreamfields pasta, zucchini, squash, garlic, and tomato), Mashed Cauliflower, and Low Carb Pita Pizzas. I also have fresh asparagus, and broccoli to go along with these meals.

3. I am trying to cut out processed foods (or greatly reduce intake) including ginger ale (one of my vices that I’ve had for fighting off nausea caused by my medication, and probably blood sugar levels too). My snacks consist of whole natural almonds, pistachios, cheese, turkey pepperoni, and natural peanut butter and apples.

I am anxious to get this over with, and begin a full recovery to ME. I have been struggling with pressure headaches over the last couple of weeks, we have all been passing colds around, and Lucky Charm had a touch of a stomach bug. Lucky Charm has also been acting very “terrible-twosy” lately and giving me a run for my money. Between being sick on and off, she is very very attached to me, and does not like to be told no (especially when requesting popcorn for breakfast!). She was on a nebulizer for a couple of weeks for an awful cough she had, and then antibiotics. We just need some time of “normal” for a little while!

I hope to snap myself out of this funk soon, and be back to posting regularly. I just want to feel like a normal person again. I want to start training to run the Princess Half NOW, without my head feel like its going to blast into outer space. One day at a time…right?

Leave a Reply

