Bent

Bent is a song by my favorite band – Matchbox 20. Matchbox 20 has always been the one band that can make me smile on my darkest days, it helps me deal with pain and grief, and it helps me celebrate the good days. It was the first concert I ever attended just one week before I left home for college at the ripe age of 17. I will be attending my second concert to see them less than one month from now.

Today I am reflecting on the following verses of the song Bent.

“If I fall along the way
Pick me up and dust me off
And if I get too tired to make it
Be my breath so I can walk

If I need some other love, then
Give me more than I can stand
And when my smile gets old and faded
Wait around I’ll smile again”

This song verse represents so much of the mental struggle that this weight loss journey has brought upon me. Some days are really really hard and I fight head hunger. Some days I fight cravings and urges that I know I shouldn’t have. Some days I give in and have one bite of something I shouldn’t. Most days, I follow all of the rules and Cruella still hates me. It is very up and down, but at the end of each day, I need to pick myself up and dust myself off, and continue smiling, because tomorrow is a new day.

Leave a Reply

