My first run!

I got up early yesterday and went on my first training run! I feel so much better now that I know where I am starting and where I need to be to complete my half marathon.

Here are my starting stats:
I ran 1.7 miles in 27 minutes and 39 seconds. I had an average pace of 16 minutes and 14 seconds per mile. My first mile which I ran intervals through was 15 minutes and 26 seconds and my second mile which I mostly walked but did some running through was 17 minutes and 4 seconds. My goal is to get my time down to 13 minutes per mile for the marathon, but ultimately to be able to finish. I know I need to not only improve my time, but my endurance.

I used map my run for my timing/distance and route mapping and I LOVED it! I love that the music played through my headphones randomly from my itunes and that I got updates on my speed and distance every so often to keep motivated.

I am really sore today, but I did a total of 6.2 miles in distance walking/running yesterday. I went to a Matchbox 20 and Goo Goo Dolls concert last night where I did some walking, and some booty shaking too.photo 1

Unfortunately, the scale didn’t budge, but I know that I worked hard yesterday and eventually the scale will adjust to my new levels of activity.

Finally, here is an updated progress photo at 254 pounds with a total loss of 52 pounds.photo 2

2 thoughts on “My first run!

    • Thanks so much! I have a couple of plans, but I haven’t started following one in particular yet, I have a Couch to 5k program, and the Jeff Galloway training program, I haven’t yet decided which way is the best to go. I am looking forward to the gradual increase – I have a 5k in January to work up to also – which I should be more than trained for.

      Thanks for stopping by – I wish you the best in your running endeavors as well!

Leave a Reply

