A Pet What?

I’m not getting a pet – I have two cats, one of which randomly pees on things when she is mad.

But I am getting a PET Scan. Essentially a PET Scan is similar to a CT scan, but the radioactive dye they put through will cling to the hungry cancer cells and appear glowing on the screen.

The results of my CT scan last week came back reading that I have a 1cm node in my neck but it is too close to the jugular to biopsy. That leaves us with a PET scan to evaluate cancerous cells/nodes throughout my body. At the end of my appointment, the doctor asked if I had any questions and I asked about some wonky bloodwork results I had reviewed from the previous week. She shared with me that these levels typically indicate Lymphoma, but we dont quite have enough information to make the diagnosis yet. From everything I have read, (and believe me I have searched to the end of Google (if that’s possible) for answers) the labwork isn’t usually drawn/drawn in this group if you don’t have cancer, and its not typically elevated if you don’t have Lymphoma/Cancer for these specific tests. They are LDH, Uric Acid, and Beta 2 Microglobulin.

After my PET scan, I will have a biopsy of the cancerous cells that are found. Then I assume a treatment protocol will be in place.

The worst part of all of this? I can’t be around Lucky Charm for 24 hours after my PET Scan so I don’t expose her to radiation. My amazing friends and I went out for dinner this weekend and one of them is putting me up in a hotel for the night so I don’t have to worry about somewhere to stay without children in the house.

I have up and down moments, but I still haven’t cried. Mostly I am just unsettled and spend time googling when I am bored, or alone. I have been trying to keep myself busy and take good care of myself despite it all. Lucky Charm started ballet today and I can’t wait to pick her up and hear all about it.

We are going to Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party on Friday with some friends. It will be the perfect distraction for my lucky little family!!! This is how I plan to take care of myself this week, distraction with costume making, planning, and looking forward to a fun time with my family and friends. Just wait ’til you see our costumes!

I will have results of my PET scan on Thursday. Have a great week! What are the obstacles you are facing this week? How are you going to take care of yourself?

Leave a Reply

