Drilling Deep

My bone marrow biopsy was today. They drilled deep into the marrow of my pelvic bone to retrieve bone marrow fluid and solid matter. I was asleep through it (thank you propofol!) and I woke up in some discomfort. Compared to gastric bypass and my back surgery, this was a cinch!

I will get the results in a couple of weeks.

Some other things have been drilling deep into my heart lately. Things like: What Legacy do I want to leave when I leave this earth? I want to make a difference in the world. I always have. I want to do big things with my life and serve others. I am on the board of directors of an adoption company and lately I have been pouring ALL of my extra time into building this company up before our annual event this fall. Recently, a boy named Davion Only was making headlines across the nation. He is from my area, and went to church to ask for an adoptive family. ANY adoptive family. His words “I’ll take anyone, Old or young, dad or mom, black, white, purple. I don’t care. And I would be really appreciative. The best I could be.”

Before all of this Lymphoma business, Mr. Lucky and I were registered for foster care licensing classes. We had to put them on hold pending all of these results.

My heart tells me that this is what we need to do. The legacy I hope to leave will be left in the difference I have made in a child’s life. I don’t want that to just be one child. Even if a child is with us for a short time, I know they will leave knowing what love feels like, and what a family is.

What legacy do you want to leave? What things are drilling deep into your heart lately?

Leave a Reply

