The Word Skinny

I don’t like the word “skinny”. Several people have resorted to calling me this lately and it bothers me. I am still FAR from skinny, in fact, I am still OBESE. I.am.NOT.skinny! I am thinner than I was, yes, but I am not skinny. I am 220 pounds. Let’s talk about this word.

skin·ny

adjective

adjective: skinny; comparative adjective: skinnier; superlative adjective: skinniest

1. (of a person or part of their body) very thin.

synonyms:

thin, scrawny, scraggy, bony, angular, rawboned, hollow-cheeked, gaunt, as thin as a rake, skin-and-bones, sticklike, emaciated, waiflike, skeletal, pinched, undernourished, underfed;

What I am not: thin, scrawny, scraggy, bony, angular, rawboned, hollow cheeked, gaunt, as thin as a rake, skin-and-bones, sticklike, emaciated, waiflike (not even sure where this word came from, but pretty sure I am not it!), skeletal, pinched! HAHA, undernourished OR underfed – therefore – I AM NOT SKINNY! Okay?

According to the app My Weight – I am Obese Class 1 – I have a BMI of 33.6 and a target BMI of 22.8 if I reach 150 pounds as my physician has recommended.

I know that people mean it as a compliment – but be real people. I was severely overwieght before, and I am still overweight. I have made huge progress and I will admit that. But please don’t call me skinny unless you are trying to get under my skin. I can handle compliments that a certain body part looks small – but skinny overall – nope. No thanks.

I have always had trouble accepting compliments. Some members of my family had a way of backhanded compliments, or just plain insults when it came to weight so it has always been a sensitive subject.

Photo is from the Turkey Trot 5K that I ran on Thanksgiving morning with my dearest LMM!
photo

2 thoughts on “The Word Skinny

  1. OMG I agree! “You’re getting skinny” drives me absolutely crazy. I’m still technically “obese” as well… and even BMI can be kind of a joke, I still clearly have pretty far to go! lol

Leave a Reply

