Selling Yourself

Selling yourself short is easy, but selling yourself on a resume, not so easy. I have been sitting at my computer trying to re-design my resume, and I am having some trouble selling myself.

I have been with the same company for 10 years. I have grown up in this company, starting as the receptionist and moving into construction administration. I finished my degree while I worked here, so I don’t exactly have the most relevant job experience when compared to my degree in Management. I do, however, know how talented I am. I know that I am moldable, flexible, intelligent, quick to learn, efficient and detail oriented. How do I convey these things appropriately in one page? That’s the conundrum.

I am so much more talented than my current position requires, and that is why I know it is time to move on. My current job has supported me through the adoption of Lucky Charm, and has been so flexible with my schedule, even allowing me to work part time, and often from home. Now that she is older, it is time to focus on finding a career that is fulfilling and that utilizes my talents appropriately.

Problem is, I don’t have a ton of specific experience anywhere in particular outside of Construction Administration. Now I have to capitalize on all of the skills I use in this position and all of the skills I have acquired through my education and volunteer experience and somehow help someone see the capabilities I have to offer. This is HARD. My wheels are spinning and I am going nowhere fast.

Perhaps the new design will spark some creative ways to highlight this? Ugh. I don’t know.

One thought on “Selling Yourself

  1. I hate writing resumés too! but I have been involved in the hiring of many, many people, so if you want a second set of eyes to read it over, let me know! And good luck.

Leave a Reply

