Race Lessons Learned

It was a giant pain in the butt to take my phone out of my arm band each time I wanted to take a photo so I really need to have a different plan for the half marathon. I would have taken so many more photos through the race if it was more convenient.

Dry mouth is serious business when you are running. My mouth was SO dry within the first mile of the 5k and I was dying for something to drink. I will always have hard candy to suck on during my races from now on to help with this problem. I also love the sport beans, but I brought jolly ranchers with me during my last run and it worked perfectly!

Have extra safety pins when you are traveling for a race in case you lose the ones that came with your race bib!

Set out your race gear the night before (ALL OF IT!) so you are not frantically looking for things at 4am (or earlier).

Banana settles well with Cruella (click here for more on Cruella) before a race.

Always have a throw-away jacket or sweatshirt before a race (even if you live in Florida)!

Do not solely rely on Pandora for your music – it may not catch the signal and then you are out of luck. Always have backup music.

What are your lessons learned with running?

2 thoughts on “Race Lessons Learned

  1. I’m not a runner, but I did do cross country runs at school and I was very good at them 🙂
    I always had to remind myself to exhale. It seems strange but I really had to concentrate on my breathing when running.

Leave a Reply

